top of page
  • Writer's pictureFHGPA Poland

Reflecting on Teaching Through Tour Guides & Polish Language Teachers (Cooper Conrad)

Updated: Jun 21

The first thing that has stood out to me on our travels is the ability of our tour guides to translate from their native language into English almost seamlessly. I took roughly seven years of French and there is no way I could give a multi hour tour in another language, I have a hard enough time holding a conversation. While I think we should begin learning foreign languages at an earlier age this isn't a curriculum discussion blog.

Another aspect of appreciation is some of our tour guides passion and enthusiasm for what they do. It is a great reminder as teachers, students have little chance of engagement in the material if they sense/ feel that the instructor isn't genuine and isn't excited about what they are teaching.

While enthusiasm is a great starting point for all teachers I have been really impressed by the various scaffolding that has supplemented our leaning on this trip. On the fly some of our instructors and tour guides have adjusted based on our ability and background knowledge. Another extremely important lesson that we need to meet students where they are currently but still provide rigor and enrichment for all students with frequent checks for understanding.

Earlier on in the trip I was growing increasingly frustrated during Polish language lessons because the instructor was going too fast. I was engaged and trying my best only to continue to fall behind because she was not giving enough time to complete notes on the material and practice the new material. This was a great reminder for me how important leaving enough time for students independent practice is in our I do, We do, You do model. Especially checking for understanding with students and giving them reassurance and positive feedback.

My last point of reflection and something I think this trip is going to dramatically impact me is in content knowledge. It is not to say that I don't know the standards and curriculum but this trip for me is allowing me to dig deeper and provide more enriching stories and accounts from history. In conversation with Dr. Brouhard we were amazed with our tour guides knowledge of Józef Piłsudski. He gave incredible accounts of Piłsudski life as well as important events that transpired in various rooms throughout the Presidential Palace. In further conversation with Dr. Brouhard we were theorizing how difficult it must be to give engaging hour and half tour on anyone we have studied but then to translate it into a foreign language on top of it.


Below was are awesome tour guide and Polish language teacher.



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Gdańsk Shipyard = Solidarity/Solidarność

In Gdańsk, we visited the European Solidarity Centre.  The museum walks the viewer through the history of the Gdańsk Shipyard, the protests of 1970 and 1980, the period of martial law implemented in 1

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page